Sports Clubs And SocsRoll of Honour

Roll of Honour

WIT Vikings Sport

Roll of Honour

Sports Star of the Year 1997-2019

YEAR             RECIPIENT

2019                Phil Healy (Athletics)

2018                Phil Healy (Athletics)

2017                Mairead Daly (Ladies Football)

2016                Jasmine Boone (Ladies Basketball)

2015                Ciara Rossiter (Ladies Soccer)

2014                Eoin Murphy (Hurling)

2013                Patricia Jackman (Camogie)

2012                Rohan Date (Boxing)

2011                Anne Dalton (Camogie)

2010                Ursula Jacob (Camogie)

2009                Colm Dowling (Swimming)

2008                Kevin Moran (Hurling)

2007                Martin O’ Leary (Sailing)

2006                Michael Walsh (Hurling & Gaelic Football)

2005                Andrew Bourns (Equestrian)

2004                JJ Delaney (Hurling)

2003                Paul Curran (Hurling)

2002                Julie Cunningham (Ladies Soccer & Ladies Gaelic F/ball)

2001                Henry Shefflin (Hurling)

2000                Andy Moloney (Hurling)

1999                Annalisa Crotty (Ladies Gaelic Football)

1998                Karen Shinkins (Athletics)

1997                Tim Pat O’Connor (Athletics)

The following are a selection of people that have gone through Waterford IT and successfully married their Sporting and Academic careers. Since graduating all have gone on to achieve success at the highest level.

Michael Walsh - Hurling, Waterford

Waterford IT 2001 to 2006

Micheal Walsh hurler

Completed his MA in Business and Finance in Waterford IT in 2006, first made his mark as a footballer when helping Waterford defeat both Cork and Kerry to win the Munster Under 21 Football Championship in 2003. Came to prominence as a hurler in the Fitzgibbon Final of 2004 and went on to clinch his place on the Waterford Senior Hurling team that won the Munster Championship that year.

Michael “Brick” Walsh is currently centre back of the Waterford Senior Hurling team and has three Fitzgibbon Cup winners medals with WIT as well as an All Star at centre back in 2009.

Henry Shefflin - Hurling, Kilkenny

Waterford IT 1997 to 2002

Business Studies Graduate, made the Kilkenny senior team in his second year, has so many hurling honours it would be difficult to list them all. He has been selected on a number of All-Star teams, has 2 Fitzgibbon medals with Waterford IT as well as numerous All Ireland medals in all grades with Kilkenny.

In 2006 he was selected as the RTE Irish Sports Personality of the Year and was awarded both the Vodafone and Texaco Hurler of the Year.



Declan Browne - Football, Tipperary

Waterford IT 1997 to 2000

Won his first football All Star in 1998, the first Tipperary footballer ever to win one. Playing in what would be considered a weaker football county he went on to win another All Star football award in 2003. Declan has also captained his county to the Tommy Murphy Cup in 2005.

As a student he won 2 Fitzgibbon Cup medals and while here in WIT he described himself as a footballer that tried to hurl.


Sinead Nealon - Camogie, Tipperary

Waterford IT 1992 to 1999

Sinead Nealon arrived as a Recreation and Leisure Management student in Waterford IT in 1992 and just a few weeks later she played in the winning Tipp side in the Junior All Ireland Final. From there she has gone on to have a hugely successful sporting career with both WIT and her native county.

She has Purcell Cup, Ashbourne Cup and Colleges Division 1 League medals for WIT as well as Minor, Junior, Intermediate and Senior Medals for Tipperary.

Karen Shinkins - Athletics, Dublin

Waterford IT 1994 to 1998

Karen Shinkins pic

Business Studies Graduate, a member of the Dublin City Harriers Athletic Club, represented Ireland in the European Championships in her final year in WIT reaching the semi final stages of the 400 meters. Went on to represent Ireland in all of the major indoor and outdoor championships including the Sydney Olympics.

She won a Bronze Medal in the European Indoor Championships in 2002. In July 2004 Karen won the Women's 400m National Title for the 8th time.