AdmissionsAbout the Region

About the Region

The South-East region is made up of five counties: Waterford, Wexford, Kilkenny, Carlow, and South Tipperary. The region covers an area of some 9,406 sq. kms, or about 13.5% of the area of Ireland.

The current population is approx. 460,838, which is 11% of the national population.

The economy of the South-East is based primarily on agriculture, manufacturing and services, tourism, fishing and aquaculture, with increasing development in the life sciences area. The region has good quality transport, particularly since the completion of the M9 which links Waterford, Carlow and Kilkenny with the capital.

The South-East is a region of unrivalled natural beauty, rich in historic and archaeological treasures and abounding in excellent natural amenities, recreation and leisure facilities.  It is a visitor’s paradise, attracting over 2 million people annually.

More Information

For more information on our region and its counties, please see The Region section of this site.