WIT lecturer wins Smarter Travel Campus Award

All News/Events
Michael Aherne, Head of Transport Development at Smarter Travel, Dr. Jenny O'Connor, WIT, and Sharon Day of Smarter Travel.

Michael Aherne, Head of Transport Development at Smarter Travel, Dr. Jenny O'Connor, WIT, and Sharon Day of Smarter Travel.

The Smarter Travel Campus Awards are organised by the Smarter Travel Campus programme of the National Transport Authority and is now in it's fifth year

Dr Jenny O’Connor, lecturer in Waterford Institute of Technology, has won a Lecturer Award at the 2019 Smarter Travel Campus Awards ceremony which took place on Friday 5 April in The Lighthouse Cinema in Smithfield in Dublin.


Lecturers were awarded for bringing projects to promote smarter modes of transport into their graded coursework.

Dr O’Connor originally from Westport Co. Mayo, now lives in Dunmore East with her husband, Rob, and four children. She has been lecturing in WIT for the past 11 years. She won the award in the Health and Event Management category.

"It is wonderful to see WIT represented among so many other institutes and universities at the campus awards," said Dr O'Connor, "and it is great for the students to be able to work on something throughout the semester that has the potential to gain national recognition”

High standard

“Last year, we won the radio ad category but this year, the standard has risen across the board so both Colm Dunphy and I are delighted that our students were nominated this year,” said Dr O’Connor. “It has also made them realise that their creativity has the potential to make a difference to the way that people commute to college. Hopefully the smarter travel campus initiative will continue to grow from strength to strength, and I am delighted that WIT has been able to get involved!"

Also nominated for his work in bringing smarter travel initiatives into his coursework was Colm Dunphy of WIT, whose students in the Department of Computing and Maths were nominated for a Campus Award for their radio ads. Health Promotion students (taught by Dr O'Connor) produced radio ads, videos and posters and students in all three groups were nominated in these categories.

Smarter travel campus

The Smarter Travel Campus Awards, now in its fifth year, are organised by the smarter travel campus programme of the National Transport Authority. It was open to third level institutions in Ireland who are partners of the smarter travel campus programme.

The Campus Awards reward students for running events, developing and designing projects and creating videos, animations, radio ads and graphics that promote ‘smarter’ modes of transport, particularly walking, cycling, public transport and carpooling.

Other winners of the Lecturers Award 2019 were Nora Ni Fhlatharta & Roisin Crowley, Limerick Institute of Technology (Multimedia), and Gareth Bennett, Trinity College Dublin (Engineering).

To read full list of 2019 finalists and winners, please click here.


Related Courses

Bachelor of Science (Honours) in  Public Health & Health Promotion

Featured News