35 years of GAA stars to gather at WIT


Familiar names in the world of GAA to be expected from Waterford, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Wexford, Laois, Galway, Limerick, Kildare, Cork and Dublin

The WIT GAA club will celebrate 35 years of success on Friday 24th February 2017 at Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT). Starting at 7.30pm the organisers have extended an open invite to past students of WIT who have been involved in GAA activities over the past 35 years.

This special Gathering event will bring together the members of the various Hurling, Camogie, Handball and Football teams since the club was founded in 1982 including some well known names* in GAA representing Waterford, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Wexford, Laois, Galway, Limerick, Kildare, Cork and Dublin.

PRO for WIT GAA club and Wexford Camogie All-star Kate Kelly is hoping for a large turn out on the night.

"The event will provide an opportunity for the club members over the years to meet and recall their experience of time spent at WIT and their activities with the GAA Club," she says.

The event starts at 7.30pm with a welcome reception at the Dome Bar on WIT's Main Campus, there will be a buffet from 8 and at 9pm sports broadcaster Damian Lawlor will do a review of 35 years of GAA at WIT.

Since its humble beginning in 1982, when the club first participated in the Higher Education Div. 3 football and hurling leagues, the WIT GAA club is now recognized as one of the most successful GAA clubs in the Higher Education sector. During this period, the club has won 117 competitions, including 9 Fitzgibbon Cups and 8 Ashbourne Cups.

"The Gathering will be a fitting event to recognize the various efforts and dedication of our members who over the past 35 years have played their part in bringing WIT GAA Club to the summit of Higher Education GAA," adds Kelly.

*Well known names from the world of GAA who have confirmed attendance include:

Waterford: Mick Mahony (Football), Michael Hubbart (Football), Andy Maloney (Hurling & Football), Shane Aherne (Hurling), Paraic Fanning (Hurling – Captain 92 team & currently Selector with Wexford Senior Hurling team), Niamh Briggs (Ladies Football & Currently on Irish Rugby team), Noel Dalton (Hurling)

Kilkenny: Collete Dormer; Bridget Mullally (Camogie), Paddy Mullally; Conor Phelan & Ray Heffernan (Hurling),

Tipperary: Eamon Corcoran (Hurling), Colm Bonnar (Hurling and currently Manager Carlow hurling team), Declan & Ger Crosse (Hurling), Damien Young (Hurling), Brian O’Meara (Hurling).

Wexford: Ursula Jacob (Camogie), Chris Hopper McGrath (Hurling), Meave Quill (Ladies Football), Leona Tector (Ladies Football)

Galway: Damien Joyce (Hurling)

Dublin: Enda Sheehy (Football)

Limerick: Ollie Moran (Hurling)

Kildare: Stacy Cannon (Ladies football)

Cork: Anne-Marie Walsh (Ladies football), Mags Finn (Camogie)

Laois: Mags McEvoy (Ladies Football), Sarah Anne Fitzgerald (Camogie)

Related Courses

Bachelor of Science (Honours) in  Sports Coaching & Performance
Bachelor of Science (Honours) in  Sport & Exercise Science
Bachelor of Business in  Recreation & Sport Management
Bachelor of Business (Honours) in  Recreation & Sport Management

Featured News