Sports Scholarships awarded to 58 WIT students

All News/Events
Sports Scholarship students at WIT were awarded with certificates for excellence in their sporting field

Sports Scholarship students at WIT were awarded with certificates for excellence in their sporting field

WIT introduces brand new Athlete of the Year award as well as awarding exceptional sporting athletes at WIT with varying degrees of awards

Waterford Institute of Technology's (WIT) Sport Scholarship Awards were held recently at WIT’s auditorium, where guests included former World Boxing Organisation (WBO) world boxing champion, Andy Lee and Munster GAA chairman, Jerry O’ Sullivan.

"This night really was about acknowledging all the students who received scholarships throughout 2015/2016," WIT Sport Scholarship Co-Ordinator, Alan Malone said. 

On the night, 58 WIT students were presented with certificates across 12 different sporting fields and administration.

Individuals who were given awards for administration included those who gave help to their respective clubs, in an administration setting. 

Each student had the chance to be awarded with a Gold, Silver, Bronze or Sports Recognition Award. 

Sports Scholarships at WIT are part funded by organisations such as Munster GAA and the Gaelic Players Association (GPA).

Munster GAA sponsors 10 scholarships and the GPA funds 14 scholarships available to WIT students each year.

Students who have received scholarships benefit from financial support, sport science support, academic mentoring and support, injury and medical treatment, lifestyle management and strength and conditioning.

The winner of the brand new Athlete of the Year award went to second year Sport Coaching and Performance student, Michael O’ Loughlin, who received a trophy and certificate on the night.

Speaking at the event, Limerick boxer Andy Lee encouraged the athletes to believe in their abilities, which combined with hard work, makes anything possible.

On the night, sports coaches and family members were also in attendance.

The awards presented on the night were categorised from Gold to Bronze, as well as a Sports Recognition Award,which is dependent on their contribution to the WIT club they play with. 


Cyclist Michael O’ Loughlin (Tipperary)

Camogie Laura Treacy (Cork)


Athletics Seán Archer (Waterford)

Hurling Jack Langton (Kilkenny)

Golf Gavin Young (Tipperary)

Camogie Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny)

Soccer Matthew Connor (Waterford)

Ladies Football Mairead Daly (Offaly)

Athletics Tony Stafford (Wexford)

Hurling Ger Teehan (Kilkenny)


Hurling Colin Burke (Clare)

Athletics James Moore (Carlow)

Rugby Isaac Mansfield Daly (Waterford)

Olympic Weightlifting Sibeal Houlihan (Waterford)

Boxing Roy Sheehy (Carlow)

Boxing Daniel O’ Driscoll (Waterford)

Rugby Mark Furey (Carlow)

Soccer Aaron O’ Connor (Waterford)

Soccer Shane Mackey (Carlow)

Rugby Timmy Morrissey (Wexford)

Basketball Jack Dooley (Laois)

Camogie Michelle Nolan (Carlow)

Camogie Lorraine Bray (Waterford)

Hurling Andrew Joyce (Cork)

Gaelic Football Linus Saych (Waterford)

Athletics Hayley Fitzsimons (Waterford)

Cycling Seán Hahessy (Tipperary)

Camogie Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny)

Ladies Football Michaela Nolan (Kildare)

Athletics Patricia Curtis (Cork)

Hurling Kevin Blanchfield (Kilkenny)

Hurling MJ Sutton (Tipperary)

Ladies Football Niamh (Wexford)

Ladies Football Shauna Dunphy (Waterford)

Ladies Soccer Tamara Furlong (Wexford)

Sports Recognition:

Ladies Soccer Tara Power (Waterford)

Ladies Soccer Rachel Hutchinson (Waterford)

Athletics Eimear Lynch (Tipperary)

Soccer Shane Nolan (Waterford)

Hurling Johnny Hayes (Kilkenny)

Related Courses

Bachelor of Science (Honours) in  Sports Coaching & Performance
Bachelor of Science (Honours) in  Sport & Exercise Science
Master of Science in  Applied Sport and Exercise Psychology

Featured News