AIB International Study Trip Best Paper Awards


The AIB Centre for Finance & Business Research Group within the School of Business awarded ‘Best paper’ awards to MBS students who achieved an exceptional standard in their papers from the recent annual international study trip to Belgium.

Opening proceedings Prof. Denis Harrington thanked AIB for their continued ongoing support of research within the business school and thanked Dr. Sheila O’Donohoe and Mr. Gerard Arthurs for their continued hard work in maintaining the opportunities and links with several significant figures in the European Union quarter in Brussels and at the prestigious University of Leuven.

Ms. Marian Keane of AIB stressed the importance of the relationship with the school of business and congratulated students on their success. Mr. Gerard Arthurs also alluded to the professional development that is at the heart of the MBS course and the opportunities given to students on the international study trip is unparalleled.

Before the awards were announced, MBS students were treated to an insightful, honest and frank address by Mr. Michael Spillane, HR manager of Glanbia PLC. Having spent over 40 years in Glanbia, Mr. Spillane offered many insights into the inner workings of the international corporation. Having begun his career as a lab technician, Mr. Spillane moved up through the organisation to his high ranking position today. He stressed the importance of mutual respect in a relationship, the human nature of making a mistake but the ability to learn from it and that looking in others for what you would like to see in yourself will help build professional relationships.

Best paper recipients:

Sam Deegan, Lauren Greene, Rebecca Connolly and Evelyn Fitzmaurice for their analysis of the Latvian economy,

Cathriona White, Siona Stokes, James Murphy, Han Mi and Wenjun Zheng for their analysis of the German economy.

More Information

Further information on our Master of Business programmes please visit our website Alternatively, enquiries can be emailed to our Programme Directors, Dr. Sheila O’Donohoe at [email protected] or Dr. Paul Morrissey at [email protected]

Related Courses

Bachelor of Business in  Business
Bachelor of Business (Honours) in  Business (Common Entry)

Featured News