School of Business – Top Students 2013-2014


The School of Business at WIT hosted its 12th Annual Recognition of Awards Ceremony on Thursday 9th October.  This Ceremony recognises continuing students with outstanding academic achievement in their previous year.  The awards were called by the Course Leaders and presented by the Head of School, Dr. Thomas O’Toole.  Recognition of student effort and excellence is something the School of Business continually does.  These top performing students can influence others to achieve their potential as peer role models, and the recognition represents a mark of excellence to be included in recipient’s curriculum vitae.

The following are the Awards presented on the night:

Dean’s List

The Dean’s list comprises approximately the top 5% highest performers in the School each achieving first class honours in their continuing studies.  In 2013-2014, 67 students from the School of Business received an award.  The School of Business was joined by parents and friends of the students for the event.  The full list of recipients is posted on the Awards Notice Board in the School of Business.

Rowe Medal

The Rowe Medal is in memory of the founding Head of School, it presented to the best performing undergraduate student.  The Rowe Medal was presented by Dr. Mark Rowe, to Ms Louise Murray, whose overall result was highest across the School.  Louise is registered on the Bachelor of Business (Hons) WD048 programme.

Graduate of the Year

The Graduate of the Year Award is presented to the best performing graduate.  The Graduate of the Year was presented by Dr. Thomas O’Toole to Ms Elena Tabokava who completed the BA (Hons) in Accounting WD084.

John Hume Credit Union Scholarship

This Award was presented by Ms. Linda O Kane on behalf of the combined Credit Unions in Waterford to Kieran Joy – BA (Hons) in International Business.

CIMA Management Accounting Prize

This award was presented by Mr. Kieran McKeown.  It was presented to the student with the best Management Accounting result for Bachelor of Business (Hons) and BA (Hons) in Accounting.

Conor Hartley – Bachelor of Business (Hons) – WD048

Jamie Hunt – Bachelor of Business (Hons) – WD048

Eibhilin Morrissey – BA (Hons) in Accounting – WD084

CPA Financial Accounting Prize

This award was presented by Mr. Mark Kennedy.  It was presented to the student with the best Financial Accounting result for Bachelor of Business (Hons) and BA (Hons) in Accounting

Olivia McDonald – BA (Hons) in Accounting – WD084

Niamh Duggan - Bachelor of Business (Hons) – WD048

Willie Fanning Bursary

This Bursary was presented by Ms. Fiona Fleming to the following BSc in Retail Management - WD184 students:

Ursula McEvoy, Thomas Cashin, Stephen Coffey, Anne Duggan, Caitriona Holohan and Liz Martin

The event was coordinated by Fiona Travers, Fiona can be contacted on 051 302675 or [email protected] 

Related Courses

Bachelor of Business in  Business
Bachelor of Business (Honours) in  Business (Common Entry)
Higher Certificate in Business in  Business
Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in  Accounting
Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in  International Business

Featured News