How to use level 6 and level 7 to progress your educational goals

All News/Events
Use the level 7/6 CAO list as a ladder to your dream future. Photo by Luis Vidal on Unsplash

Use the level 7/6 CAO list as a ladder to your dream future. Photo by Luis Vidal on Unsplash

Don't be 'at sixes and sevens' ie confused about what to put on your level 7/6 CAO list. We outline how to give yourself more options with your choices

The CAO has two lists – one is for level 8 courses and the other is for level 7/6. In Ireland qualifications are on a scale from 1 to 10 since the National Framework of Qualifications (NQF) was introduced. If you’re a CAO applicant the courses you are applying for are levels 6, 7 and 8. The higher the number the higher the qualification.

If you have your heart set on a certain level 8 course it may be easy to think you can ignore level 7/6. However why halve your chances of going to college by leaving 10/20 spaces on the CAO empty?

Three reasons to pick a level 6 or level 7 course

1. Level 6 and level 7 courses are often less points than the level 8 equivalent and can be a route of entry for any student who doesn’t achieve the level 8 points.

2. They tend to be two to three years long allowing students to try a course for a shorter period if they are unsure if it’s the right path for them. This can be very beneficial for some students if they do not want to commit to a four year degree. 

3. Students who complete level 6 and 7 courses have the opportunity to transfer into some level 8 courses.

How the progression route from a level 6 or 7 course works

Do I get multiple qualifications if I progress from level 6, 7 and 8 courses?

If you complete a course whether it be a level 6, 7 or 8 you will have a graduation with a certificate of completion. If you complete a course and move onto another course you may have multiple graduations and certificates of completion.

Will it cost more to do a level 6 or 7 and progress onwards to a level 7 or 8 course?

It won’t cost you more to do a level 6 or 7 if you are an Irish citizen as you are covered by the Department of Education and Skills who pays the tuition fees to the colleges instead. 

Learn more about fees in WIT

I’m not sure whether to repeat the Leaving Cert or to do a level 6/7?

Here are some questions to ask yourself before making up your mind.

1. Are you a good repeat candidate? Are you likely to slip back into bad study habits?

2. Will doing this course help you get where you want to be?

Consider progression routes for your desired course. Many level 8 courses have progression routes from level 6 and 7 courses, so check out the options in our handbook and see what you can add to your CAO.

3. Will I love this course, and will it be interesting?

There is no point doing a course you have no interest in. Remember you are doing this to go out into the world and work in an area you are passionate about.

How to include level 6 and 7 on your CAO application

Start off with what you know you would love to study and work at then look at the courses that will take you there. 

Look at level 6 and level 7 courses that relate to your chosen path and will also give you the option to transfer to a level 8 that will result in a qualification in your preferred career.This will help you open opportunities to continue your studies in the future. Check course pages to get an idea of routes in or further study.

Level 6 and 7 options available in WIT

Progression: WIT students who progress from a WIT level 6 or 7 onto a level 7 or 8.

Advanced entry: Students who have completed all or part of a third level qualification may be eligible for entry into years other than year 1 of our courses. See

Featured News